Chief Marcus Jones Announces Retirement After Thirty-Eight Years of Dedicated Service

Chief of Police -Marcus G. JonesAfter a career spanning 38-years, Chief Marcus G. Jones has announced his retirement from the Montgomery County Department of Police (MCPD), effective Monday, July 1, 2024.

Chief Jones is a respected leader, who has tirelessly served Montgomery County with unwavering commitment and dedication. Throughout his tenure, he has played a pivotal role in enhancing public safety, implementing innovative policing strategies, and fostering positive relationships between MCPD and the community.

Read the full Press Release >>

30X30 - We Aim to Go Higher

We are proud to be a member of the @30x30initiative to increase the number of women recruits to 30% by 2030 and support women officers throughout their careers. Learn more about 30X30 >>

The Heart of Service

Being a Montgomery County Police Officer means having a heart of service. If you have the heart to serve, we want you to join our team. Learn more about being a Police Officer >>

Who We Are

The Montgomery County Department of Police, located in Montgomery County, Maryland, includes approximately 1,300 sworn officers and approximately 650 support personnel. The Police Department was established in 1922, and today is responsible for policing a County with a population of over one million people.

The Police Department is structured into the Office of the Chief, under which is the Internal Affairs Division, Professional Accountability Division, Media & Public Information Office and then five major bureaus: the Community Resources Bureau, the Field Services Bureau, the Investigative Services Bureau, the Management Services Bureau, and the Patrol Services Bureau. The Patrol Services Bureau, the largest and most visible bureau in the Police Department, oversees the majority of the Department’s uniformed officers on patrol. The Patrol Services Bureau is divided into six police districts.

Learn more >>