Assistant Chief - Dinesh Patil

The Investigative Services Bureau is the primary investigative branch for serious and violent crime in Montgomery County. Detectives are assigned to one of the four divisions in this Bureau and are responsible for investigations leading to the detection, identification, apprehension, and prosecution of persons responsible for committing serious crimes in the County. The Bureau is comprised of four major divisions.


Criminal Investigations Division

Captain Jason Cokinos, Director
Main Number: 240-773-5060

The Criminal Investigations Division consists of

  • Crime Laboratory
  • District Investigative Section
  • Electronic Crimes Unit
  • Financial Crimes Section

Major Crimes Division

Captain Ruben Rosario, Director
Main Number: 240-773-5070

The Major Crimes Division consists of

  • Homicide Section
  • Robbery Section
  • Fugitive Unit
  • Missing Persons/Cold Case Section
  • Victim/Witness Assistance Unit

Special Investigations Division

Captain Nicholas Picerno, Director
Main Number: 240-773-5959

The Special Investigations Division consists of

  • Criminal Enterprise Section
    • Repeat Offender Unit
    • Vice/Intelligence Unit
    • Criminal Street Gang Unit
    • Electronic/Technical Surveillance Unit
  • Drug Enforcement Section
    • Major Offenders/Conspiracy Unit
    • Drug Investigative Unit
    • Drug Interdiction Unit
    • Firearms Investigative Unit

Special Victims Investigations Division

Captain Amy Daum, Director
Main Number: 240-773-5400

The Division is responsible for investigating sex crimes against children and adults, physical child abuse, runaways, missing children, felony domestic violence, elder abuse/vulnerable adult abuse, and registration violations of sex offenders.

  • Child Abuse Section
  • Child Exploitation Section
  • Domestic Violence/Elder Abuse Section
  • Missing Children/Runaway Section
  • Polygraph Unit
  • Sexual Assault Unit