Montgomery County Anti-Hate Task Force

The County Council is committed to ending the spread of hate, bigotry and harassment based on race, ethnicity, color, religion, national origin, disability, and sexual orientation based on gender, gender identity and expression, or any other protected characteristic as defined by law.

Under the leadership of Council President Glass, the full Council has unanimously approved a resolution to create, and appoint the members of, an Anti-Hate Task Force to prioritize policies that promote safety and combat hate crimes. This includes, but isn’t limited to racism, anti-Black hate, anti-AAPI hate, anti-Latino hate, antisemitism, Islamophobia, xenophobia, homophobia, or transphobia. The group is broken up into cohorts that include members from the African American and Black, Latino and Hispanic, Asian American Pacific Islander, LGBTQ+, Jewish and Muslim communities. 

The Task Force held its kickoff on Tuesday, July 11 at 7:00 p.m. at the Wheaton Regional Library and will hold additional meetings through November.

Montgomery County residents should feel a sense of inclusion and connection, not alienation, when they travel around our beautifully diverse community. Local government has a moral obligation to promote inclusiveness, celebrate diversity, prevent the spread of misinformation, and reject hate in all its forms.

Agendas and video links for each of these meetings will be posted below. To register to attend these meetings and request the ZOOM link please contact Council staff. 

Resources and Reports

Press Releases

Media Coverage