Office of the County Executive Staff

Executive Office Staff

County Executive:  Marc Elrich ( @MontCoExec)

Special Assistants:

  • Claire Iseli
  • BB Otero
  • Debbie Spielberg
  • Dale Tibbitts

Chief Administrative Officer: Richard Madaleno ( @McMdCAO)

Assistant Chief Administrative Officers:

Director of Strategic Partnerships: Tricia Swanson 
Special Projects Director: Judith Costello
Innovation Manager: Michael Baskin
Internal Audit Manager: Bill Broglie
Climate Change Officer: Sarah Kogel-Smucker

Duties and Responsibilities of the Office

The Office of the County Executive (CEX) provides political leadership to the community, through County Executive Marc Elrich and his staff, and administrative direction to the County’s executive branch departments under the supervision of the Chief Administrative Officer and his staff.

The County Executive oversees the enforcement of the laws of Montgomery County and provides Executive direction to all departments and offices of the County government. The County Executive also develops policies; proposes plans, programs, budgets, and legislation to the County Council; adopts Executive Orders and Regulations and appoints residents to boards, committees, and commissions. Each month, staff publishes the Montgomery County Register, which makes available to the public information on proposed, adopted and temporary regulations issued by the County Executive and Boards and Commissions, as well as other important bulletins.

Guiding Principles

CEX staff aims to provide support to these efforts in an atmosphere of excellence, efficiency, openness, outreach, equity, and integrity under our guiding principles:

  • Insisting upon customer satisfaction
  • Ensuring high value for tax dollars
  • Adhering to the highest ethical standards
  • Appreciating diversity
  • Being open, accessible and responsive
  • Empowering and supporting employees
  • Striving for continuous improvement
  • Working together as a team
  • Being accountable

Contact Us

For County Executive, Chief Administrative Officer and all Executive Office Staff:

Executive Office Building (EOB)
101 Monroe Street, 2nd Floor
Rockville, MD 20850
Send email
Phone: 240-777-0311

For Maryland Public Information Act (MPIA) requests:

Monisola Brobbey
101 Monroe Street, 2nd Floor
Rockville, MD 20850
Phone: 240-777-2550