Training

ALERT / Alcohol Law Education Regulatory Training

ALERT is designed to educate Montgomery County servers, sellers, managers and owners in alcohol beverage regulatory compliance.

Participants will learn how to develop responsible alcohol policies, review issues identified by County and State enforcement agencies and have an opportunity to meet and network with peers and county officials.

This training complements the state certified training, it does not replace it.

Where?
ABS is holding ALERT trainings online until further notice.

Cost?
There is no cost to attend ALERT.

When?
ALERT is held from 10AM - 12PM on the 2nd and 4th Monday of every month (except if the Monday falls on a holiday).
Class begins promptly at 10:00am. We recommend signing in 10 minutes ahead of time to allow time for troubleshooting .
Please note, attendees who have not joined the meeting by 10:15am will not be allowed into the session and will not be issued a letter of attendance.

How to register?
Registration is required as space is limited.

Register Online for ALERT in English Regístrese en Línea para ALERT en Español


Get the PowerPoint Presentation

Get the Powerpoint Presentation (Spanish)

Upcoming Trainings

Monday, January 10 Wednesday, July 6  (Spanish)
Wednesday, January 12 (Spanish) Monday, July 11
Monday, January 24 Monday, July 25
Monday, February 7 Monday, August 8
Tuesday, February 22 Monday, August 22
Monday, March 7 Monday, September 12
Monday, March 21 Monday, September 26
Wednesday, April 6  (Spanish) Wednesday, October 5  (Spanish)
Monday, April 11 Tuesday, October 11
Monday, April 25 Monday, October 24
Monday, May 9 Monday, November 7
Monday, May 23 Monday, November 21
Monday, June 13 Monday, December 12
Monday, June 27  

RBSP Training

Responsible Beverage Service & Policy Training
"Building Capacity through Education"

Our Mission

The Responsible Beverage Service & Policy (RBSP) training approach to alcohol awareness incorporates history and current industry conditions to educate Montgomery County government personnel about the sale, consumption, and regulation of alcohol. This comprehensive education program teaches everything from intoxication rate factors and visible signs of intoxication to effective intervention strategies.

Our goals include:

  • Building confidence and providing tools for individuals likely to encounter alcohol-related challenges in the workplace
  • Creating opportunities to educate individuals about Montgomery County-specific policies and practices and how we got here

Class Details

Instructors: Bailey Allard and Barb Giniger Cooper
Time: 3-4 hours (including exam)
Format: Virtual

At this time, the Responsible Beverage Service & Policy Training is only being offered to Montgomery County government agencies.

If you have not been invited to take this course, and are interested in learning more, email us

 

State Certified Trainings

The Requirement - Article 2B-SS 13-101
  • On & Off Premise retail alcohol beverage establishments are required to maintain at least one licensee or designated employee who has been currently certified in an approved alcohol awareness training program.
  • Establishments in Montgomery, Harford and Howard Counties are required to have a certified license-holder or a certified person employed in a supervisory capacity designated by the licensee present during the hours in which alcohol may be sold.
  • Certification must be renewed every four years to remain current.
  • Failure to have a certified representative may result in license renewal delays, as well as, fines, suspensions or even revocation of your retail alcohol beverage license. Currently penalties for failure to comply are $100 for the first offense; and $500 fine or a suspension/revocation of the license, or both, for each subsequent offense.
  • Temporary licenses (except those issued in St. Mary's County) and class E - steamboat, F - railroad and G - aircraft licenses are exempt from this mandate.
The Training Programs

Below is a list of Alcohol Awareness Courses, approved by the Maryland State Comptroller’s Office and compiled by ABS-LRE. The list is not a complete directory of all vendors that service Montgomery County and it is not offered as an endorsement for any of the companies.

List of State of Maryland Approved Server Training Programs in Montgomery County

Search for other State of Maryland approved alcohol awareness training programs:

Webinars