Skip to main content
Department of Recreation logo

Camp Information

text: Camp!

Age Appropriate Activities

To make participation fun, each camp provides activities that are designed for specific age categories. Campers must be the advertised age of the camp by the start of the program. For Summer Fun Centers, campers must be six years old and entering the first grade.

Camp Staff

Camp staff are carefully screened and selected for their activity skills, level of enthusiasm, ability to work well with children, and good judgment. In addition, training is provided on safety procedures and expected conduct, as well as program planning and implementation. By state law, all staff undergo background checks. All camp directors are over 21 years of age.

Camper Behavior

Respecting others and the property of others is the key to having a great time at camp. To help create a positive camp atmosphere for everyone, campers and their parents must sign that they have read the Camper Code of Conduct.

Camper Security

For your child's safety, only the individual(s) designated on the Camper Health and Information Form can pick up your child. Additionally, the person completing the health form is the only one who can add or delete individuals with pick-up authority.

Field Trips and Special Events

Most camps offer field trips and/or special events to add excitement to the activities. A permission slip must be signed by a parent in order for a child to participate, and in some cases, an additional fee is requested. MCPS buses transport campers to interesting activities in and around Montgomery County and Washington D.C.

Food at Camp

Campers are expected to bring nonperishable peanut free food and drink for the entire day. Water is always available at camp. Campers should bring snacks on swim days. Any food allergies must be clearly identified on the Camper Health and Information Form to avoid problems. No refrigeration is available. 

Pick-Up Policy

Parents are expected to pick up children promptly at the close of the program. An overtime fee of $10 per child for each fifteen minutes (or portion of fifteen minutes) is assessed, regardless of the reason for being late. Payment is due at the time of pick-up (cash or check), and a child may not participate again until the late fee has been paid. If you would like your child to walk home, please complete the release section at the bottom of the Camper Health and Information Form.

Safety First

Because safety is our first priority, our summer camp program operates under the stringent Day Camp Standards established by the Recreation Department and inspected by the State of Maryland Department of Health & Mental Hygiene. Camp staff are certified in CPR and First Aid.

Summer Heat

Although many camp sites are air-conditioned, when Code Red alerts and high temperature warnings are issued, program activities may be modified. Scheduled events may be substituted with alternative activities such as less active games, water play, and indoor activities. Air-conditioning is not guaranteed.

Swimming

Recreational swimming at Recreation Department outdoor pools may be provided at some of the camps. MCPS buses or county vans are used to transport campers to the pool, unless a pool is within walking distance. Swim schedule will be available in May.

 
Go Top