Skip to main content

Standing Committees

There are currently six Council standing committees. Each Committee has budget review and program oversight responsibilities. Some cross-cutting issues may be reviewed by two or more committees meeting jointly.

In some of the committees, an individual other than the chair has been designated as the Lead Councilmember for an issue or group of issues. Lead Councilmembers take the initiative in developing agenda items in their areas of responsibility and act as chair of the committee for these specified topics.

Helpful Links:
  • View Committee Schedule: The Council Committee schedule is updated in the Council Calendar.
  • View Committee Agendas and Videos: Videos of the committee meetings can be viewed live through our online streaming site and can be viewed on-demand 24 hours after the meeting concludes.

Education (ED)


Craig Rice, Chair

Jurisdiction: Issues relating to Montgomery County Public Schools, Montgomery College, Montgomery Coalition for Adult English Literacy, and COmmunity use of Public Facilities.

Government Operations and Fiscal Policy (GO)


Nancy Navarro, Chair

Jurisdiction: Economic and fiscal policy; spending affordability; County Government administrative departments; cable and telecommunications issues; technology issues; personnel and compensation issues; procurement policy; oversight of interagency teams on training, public information, procurement, and PEG (public, education, and government) cable television channels.

Health and Human Services (HHS)


Jurisdiction: The Department of Health and Human Services and all associated issues and organization; libraries and the arts, culture and humanities.

Planning, Housing, and Economic Development (PHED)


Nancy Floreen, Chair

Jurisdiction: Master Plans and amendments to the zoning laws; issues related to parks and recreation, the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, and the Montgomery County Planning Board; historic preservation; economic development; housing; and agricultural preservation.

Public Safety (PS)


Marc Elrich, Chair

Jurisdiction: The Police Department, State's Attorney's Office, the Circuit Court, Sheriff's Office, Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, and the Criminal Justice Coordinating Commission; Fire and Rescue Service, Emergency Management and Homeland Security; Animal Control and Office of Consumer Protection.

Transportation, Infrastructure, Energy and Environment (T and E)


Jurisdiction: Water and sewer issues and the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission; issues relating to environmental protection and conservation, including forest conservation; and solid waste, County infrastructure issues including public transportation, roadway and street contruction and maintenance.

Go Top