Pedestrian Road Safety Audit Program

Montgomery County’s Pedestrian Road Safety Audit (PRSA) Program, which began in 2008, is a key strategy of the County's Vision Zero Initiative to eliminate serious injuries and fatalities from our roadways. The audits, which are based on the Federal Highway Administration’s (FHWA’s) guidelines, use a data-informed approach to identify safety issues at the County’s High Incidence Areas (HIAs) – areas identified as having the highest rates of pedestrian-related crashes. In 2017, the PRSA program was expanded to audit roadways with the highest rates of serious injury and fatal crashes and includes safety recommendations for all travel modes (people driving, walking, and biking).

To date, the Montgomery County Department of Transportation (MCDOT), in coordination with the Maryland State Highway Administration (SHA) has conducted 15 audits, shown in the interactive map below.  To learn more about individual audits, click on the project name below.

View  Pedestrian Road Safety Audit Program in a larger map


Completed Safety Audits

  1. New Hampshire Ave (I-495 to Piney Branch)
  2. Colesville Rd (Fenton to N. Noyes)
  3. Connecticut Ave (Georgia to Independence)
  4. East Gude Dr (Southlawn Ln to Calhoun Dr)
  5. Fenton Street (Cameron St to Wayne Ave)
  6. Four Corners (Silver Spring)
  7. Georgia Ave (Spring to Sligo)
  8. Georgia Ave & Randolph Rd (Interchange)
  9. Middlebrook Rd (Father Hurley to Waring Station)
  10. Old Georgetown Rd (Cordell Ave to Wisconsin Ave)
  11. Piney Branch Rd (Flower to PG County Line)
  12. Randolph Rd (Colie to Selfridge)
  13. Randolph Road (West) (Hunters to Selfridge)
  14. Reedie Dr (Veirs Mill to Georgia)
  15. Rockville Pk (Hubbard to Halpine)
  16. Wisconsin Ave (Leland to Montgomery)