Skip Navigation
Top Stories
  • see caption below


    The national celebration of ‘Take Your Child to Work Day’ was joined in by the Montgomery County government on April 24 as more than 100 students learned about the jobs of their parents—and about County government. As part of the program, County Councilmember Phil Andrews talked to the students and their parents about the role of government, which preceded an interactive demonstration about how a bill becomes County law.

  • see caption below


    Montgomery County Council President Craig Rice and County Executive Leggett on April 18 signed a letter urging the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission to work with the dozens of property owners in the Clarksburg historic district to make sewer accessibility financially feasible for them. Left to right: Patrick Darby, owner of the bookstore; Councilmembers George Leventhal and Nancy Floreen; David Stein, president of the Clarksburg Chamber of Commerce; Councilmember Marc Elrich; Clarksburg resident Joanne Woodson; and Betty and Joe Buffington.

  • see caption below


    The long and snowy winter produced numerous Montgomery County residents who went out of their way to help neighbors. On April 22, Councilmember Nancy Floreen (to the immediate left of the speaker) presented “Golden Shovel Awards” to 111 residents who helped neighbors shovel out after snowfalls. Many of the awardees attended the ceremonies in Rockville, including Pete Salinger of Bethesda (speaking), who shoveled sidewalks throughout his Bethesda neighborhood to help neighbors who would have had difficulty doing it themselves.

  • see caption below


    The Montgomery County Council on April 22 joined in the national celebration recognizing local businesses by declaring “Small Business Day” in the County. Among those attending the ceremonies in Rockville were, left to right: Council President Craig Rice; Ralph King, Jr., of Columbia Bank in Rockville; Jerome Leonard of the Taylor-Leonard Corporation in Montgomery Village; Cathy Kim of the Gazette Newspapers; Antonio Doss, district director of the U.S. Small Business Administration; and Merlyn Reineke, executive director of Montgomery Community Media.

  • see caption below


    The Montgomery Coalition for Adult English Literacy (MCAEL), which is dedicated to strengthening the county-wide adult English literacy network, on April 9 hosted host its first annual Spelling Bee for Adult Literacy. On April 8, the County Council saluted the organization that has more than 60 programs and serves more than 20,000 adults each year. At the ceremonies in Rockville, from left to right, were: Chiao-Chiao Liu; Kelly Johnson, Dunya Hacht; Councilmember Nancy Navarro; Kathy Stevens, executive director of MCAEL; Cecilia Johnson; and Patrick Spencer Salami.

  • see caption below


    Liliana Arango (right), director of the Montgomery College Hispanic Business Institute, talked about classes offered at the institute when she appeared with co-host Alexandra Arata on the April 11 edition of Sintonía con el Concejo del Condado de Montgomery (Tuned In with the Montgomery County Council). Para escuchar este show haga clic al siguiente enlace: Click here to listen to an audio broadcast of the show.

  • see caption below


    Jasper Young, a formerly homeless person who was placed in permanent housing by Montgomery County, draws some smiles while putting in perspective some of his experiences at the Montgomery County 100,000 Homes Campaign event on April 9. Among those at the event in Rockville were, left to right: Council Vice President George Leventhal; Roberto Pinero, chair of the County’s Housing Opportunities Commission; Council President Craig Rice; Mark Bergel, director of A Wider Circle; Councilmember Roger Berliner; and Susie Sinclair-Smith, executive director for the Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless.

  • see caption below


    Year-round, full-time working women in 2012 earned only 77 percent of the earnings of year-round, full-time working men. On April 8, the Montgomery County Council joined in the movement to have employers provide equal pay for all by declaring “Equal Pay Day.” Wearing red at the ceremonies (to show that women are still in the red when it comes to pay), left to right, are: Councilmember Nancy Floreen; Jeanette Feldner and Holly Joseph, co-presidents of the National Organization for Women; and Councilmembers Nancy Navarro and Cherri Branson.

  • see caption below

    17th County Council . . .

    The 17th County Council of Montgomery County now includes new District 5 Councilmember Cherri Branson, who was appointed to a vacant position on Jan. 28. All Councilmembers will serve through Dec. 1, 2014. Seated, left to right: Cherri Branson, Council President Craig Rice, Council Vice President George Leventhal and Nancy Navarro. Standing: Hans Riemer, Phil Andrews, Nancy Floreen, Roger Berliner and Marc Elrich.

Council Headlines
Council Members
Council seal.
Connect With Us Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter View Council on YouTube Council Sessions,Committee Meetings and Public Hearings Calendar CCM Live

Información En Español

Legislative Branch Offices

  Office of the Inspector General  |  Board of Appeals |  Office of Legislative Oversight (OLO)   

  Office of Zoning & Administrative Hearings |  Merit System Protection Board |  Charter Review Commission

Helpful Links
  2014 Election Dates
Property Tax
Information & Bill
Payment System
Vote Icon
2014 Election Dates
2014 Election Dates


Montgomery County Council, 100 Maryland Ave, Rockville MD 20850
Phone: (240) 777-7900 (voice) • (240) 777-7888 (fax) • (MD Relay) Dial 711 or 800-201-7165
Contact the County Council and Legislative Branch Offices